Red Shadow Singers Traditional Drum Songs: Learn the Meaning Behind the Songs

Posted in: Uncategorized
Tags:
Thank you to all those who came out to watch  The 8th Fire * One Earth * One Whole Circle * Againlast Sunday February 14, and Session 2 of the Red Shadow Singers Traditional Drum Songs on February 4. 

You can still view these online by clicking on the links above!
 TURTLE LODGE PRESENTS:
Red Shadow Singers Traditional Drum Songs: Learn the Meaning Behind the Songs (SESSION 3)

SUNDAY FEBRUARY 21, 2021
4 PM PST / 5 PM MST / 6 PM CST / 7 PM EST / 8 PM ADT
 David Courchene III will be back on Sunday February 21, 2021 with Anishinaabe speaker/translator Robert Maytwayashing for the third session in this series from the Red Shadow Singers. This session will feature guest singers Carl Swan & Todd Genno.
 Join us and our ceremony family to chat, learn language and share our love.
You can watch Sessions 1 and 2 of the Red Shadow Singers Traditional Drum Songs: Learn the Meaning Behind the Songs here:

Session 1 (took place on January 21, 2021)
Session 2 (took place on February 4, 2021)

Click here to join the ZOOM link – which is free and open to the public.

We hope you can join us!

 CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE RED SHADOW ZOOM MEETING  (SESSION 3)
 The Red Shadow Singers (Ghost Dance Songs (2005), Manitou Api – A Return to the Centre (2007), Red Shadow Singers (2017), available on itunes), is a group that has been identified as the main drum group at the Turtle Lodge.  Originating from a number of First Nations across Canada, they represent the Turtle Lodge as they carry the sacred songs that came through the Turtle Lodge, through ceremony, prayer and fasting.
 
The Red Shadow Singers are often invited to sing the sacred songs.  They have been honoured by nominations at music awards, in the traditional category, in the United States and Canada.  To Indigenous people, the drum represents the heartbeat of Mother Earth and carries the voice of the people.  The Red Shadow Singers ask that their songs, received through ceremony, be used in spiritual ways for healing or prayer.

We hope you can join us for Session 3!
 CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE RED SHADOW ZOOM MEETING (SESSION 3)

There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Comment

Welcome back to the Turtle Lodge!
If you have trouble signing in, please send an email to turtlelodge@mts.net.