• Summary of Wahbanung
    Summary of Wahbanung
    The Resurgence of a People: Clearing the Path for our Survival
    MORE INFO
  • Mino-Pi-Matisi-Win
    Mino-Pi-Matisi-Win
    Mino-Pi-Matisi-Win is a belief system of Indigenous people. It's promotion is the goal of the Turtle Lodge.
    MORE INFO
  • Seven Sacred Laws
    Seven Sacred Laws
    The Seven Sacred Laws are important teachings in Indigenous culture that honour spiritual law and bring us back to our connection to the land.
    MORE INFO
  • Journey of the Human Spirit
    Journey of the Human Spirit
    It all starts with a special blue light from the heavens that enters a mother’s womb.
    MORE INFO
  • Abinooji Kagekwewin
    Abinooji Kagekwewin
    Education and teachings that are given by Mother Earth, Grandmothers, Mothers, and women; for the children, that last forever.
    MORE INFO
  • Makoose Ka Win
    Makoose Ka Win
    Makoose Ka Win are rites of passage that are conducted each spring at the Turtle Lodge by the Grandmothers, who provide teachings of how to honour and carry oneself as a Woman.
    MORE INFO
  • Vision Quest
    Vision Quest
    The Vision Quest is a rite of passage conducted each spring that enables men and boys to transition from one life stage to the next with purpose and meaning.
    MORE INFO
  • Summary of Wahbanung
  • Mino-Pi-Matisi-Win
  • Seven Sacred Laws
  • Journey of the Human Spirit
  • Abinooji Kagekwewin
  • Makoose Ka Win
  • Vision Quest

THE TURTLE LODGE

In 2018, Traditional Elders from across Great Turtle Island and Abya Yala (North, Central, and South America) named Turtle Lodge their Central House of Knowledge as traditional leaders of their Nations and Peoples.


UPCOMING EVENTS

WEDNESDAY SEPTEMBER 16TH (4-5 pm PDT/ 5-6 pm MDT/6-7 pm CDT/7-8 pm EDT/8-9 pm ADT)

Rediscovering the Power of the Sacred Fire (WED SEPT 16, 6 PM CDT)
Wed Sept. 16, 2020 at 4-5 pm PDT/ 5-6 pm MDT/6-7 pm CDT/7-8 pm EDT/8-9 pm ADT

RECENT NEWS AND UPDATES


OUR VISION

The Turtle Lodge is a place for sharing our universal and ancient knowledge, a place for reconnecting ourselves to the Earth and Nature, and also, a place for sharing among people of all colours and nations.

The Turtle Lodge in Sagkeeng First Nation was built in 2002, in fulfillment of a vision received many years ago, and founded upon spiritual, land-based teachings that brings balance to life. It has been built for our children - the center of our lives. Our fundamental goal is Mino-Pi-Mati-Si-Win - A Good and Peaceful Way of Life.

The Turtle Lodge is based on the Seven Sacred Laws and the Eight Paths of Life, the ancient universal values of the Anishnabe People of Turtle Island (North America).



Welcome back to the Turtle Lodge!
If you have trouble signing in, please send an email to turtlelodge@mts.net.